Income Classification: 2nd Class
Congressional District: 2nd District
No. of Barangays: 15
Land Area: 4,160.76 has.
Registered Voters (COMELEC, January 2013): 31,675
Newly Elected Local Officials (2016 Election)
The Municipality of Bay is one of the coastal municipality in the province of Laguna. It is very susceptible to flooding due to its proximity to the Laguna lake. There are two major rivers in the municipality: the CAMBANTOC river in barangay Maitim and the SAN NICOLAS river that passes thru Barangay San Agustin and Barangay San Nicolas. Among the fifteen (15) Barangays, six (6) usually experience flooding. These barangays are Barangay San Antonio, Tagumpay, Maitim, Sto. Domingo, San Isidro and barangay Dila. During the 70’s , 80’s and 90’s, the town proper as well as the coastal barangays experience flood and flashflood with an interval of 8 to 10 years Since, the Climate Changes occur flooding now appear once every three (3) years. Last 2006, the town proper experience flash flood brought by typhoon Milenyo; In 2009 and 2012 typhoon Ondoy and Habagat respectively, cause severe flooding in 5 coastal barangays and low lying areas. It took about three (3) months (more or less) to subsides. About 4,800 families were affected and evacuated in twenty (20) identified evacuation centers. Now to protect the citizenry from adverse effect of disaster and climate change there is an urgent need to intensify information and education campaign on climate change adaptation and mitigation through stakeholders participation, the academe, People Organization’s and NGO’s to work hand and hand to formulate appropriate strategies and adaptation measures that will resolve in an effective and efficient climate proofing plan in our LGU.
Just like the rest of the archipelago, the town of Bay has no record before the coming of Spaniards in the 18th century. Bay existed long before the coming of Spaniards. The Chinese must have come to the lakeshore towns to trade as early as 9th century. The earliest account of Bay appeared in the conquest of island of Luzon published in April 20, 1572. It was described a great lake of fresh water, 12 league wide and very deep. The villages around the lake had about 25,000 inhabitants when Captain Juan de Salcedo arrived in the area.
The “official” recorded history of Bay, may be gleaned from Gaspar de San Agustin’s Conquestas de las Islas Filipinas of 1963 and Fr. Joaquin Martines de Zuniga’s status of the Philippine Islands in 1800. Miguel Lopez de Legaspi, after establishing the city of Manila on June 24, 1571, ordered the exploration and pacification of the surrounding villages and settlements. Martin de Goiti led a contingent towards Pampanga while Juan de Salcedo Legaspi’s 22 year old grandson led a contingent up to the Pasig river towards the inter lands of Laguna de Bay.
With him was Fr. Alonzo Alvarado, an Agustinian who was very zealous in converting the natives. From Taytay and Cainta, Salcedo proceeded to Bay, Liliw, Nagcalan and Majayjay and to other towns where up-on Fr. Alvarado’s intercession, the natives surrendered peacefully with Fray Diego de Espinar and 60 men. He followed the rugged trails of the mountainous village of Sampaloc towards the Bicol Region to look for gold which he found in the gold mines besides the Bicol River.
In 1571, Fr. Martin de Rada, the superior of the Agustinian religious order who came with the Legaspi expedition in 1565, started to build a bamboo and nipa church under the patronage of Saint Augustine along the lakeshore of Bay (i.e. Aplaya, now San Antonio). He became the first parish priest of Bay. On April 30, 1578, Fr. Joaquin de Zuniega stated in the Historical view of the Philippine Island that Bay was organized both as a town and a parish with Fray Juan Gallegos as the parish priest. On the same day, the village of Sampaloc (now San Pablo) was made a visita of the lake side village where it was believed that the tribunal of Ecclesiastical visitors of Bay was held. Fray Gaspar de San Agustin further wrote that in 1586, the Agustinian Fathers organized the visita into a convent with a priest. The provincial Father Diego Alvarez to handle the administration of the Christian natives. Thus Sampaloc which came to be known as San Pablo de los Montes, ceased to be part of the Bay parish.
The Municipality is almost at the geographic center of the Province of Laguna and located 67 kms from Manila, 20 kms. from San Pablo City and 26 kms. from Sta. Cruz. Bounded on the: North: Laguna de Bay; East: Municipality of Calauan; West: Municipality of Los Baños; South: Municipality of Sto. Tomas, Batangas.
Major Income Sources: Geothermal Plant, Fishing and Agriculture
Tourist Destinations: Royal Palm Leisure Park, Goshen’s Place (1950 Resort), Jardin de San Agustin, Maria Luisa Resort, Los Baῆos Forest Club, St. Augustine Parish Church, Kamayan sa Palaisdaan, Geothermal Power Plant, Tesoro’s Farm, Maspeth Resort
Special Events/Festivals: Flores de Mayo, Feast of Patron Saint - St. Augustine (August 28), Foundation of Municipality of Bay (April 30)
Address: Municipal Hall, Bay, Laguna
Phone: (049) 304-1034